Blog Against Sexism Day

February 9th, 2006

Blog Against Sexism March 8March 8, 2006

Inspired by the Blog Against Racism Day in December, it was decided that for at least one day we would try to focus the blogosphere on another evil: sexism. While those that write about sexism on a regular basis are gladly asked to join in, we enourage those that never or rarely talk about this important topic to join in. There are no guidelines. All that is asked is that you write at least a little something against sexism. We especially encourage men to challenge themselves and write about the topic.

If you want to participate, all you have to do is write a post. However, in order to spread the word about all the posts and to later put together a collection of posts, its asked that you do one or more of the following:

To get more exposure you can also use the technorati tag ‘blog against sexism’. We want to help publicize new blogs, so please let us know if you’ll be participating.
Check back often for updates. And thanks for participating.

Why March 8?
Because its International Women’s Day. Because its the Global Women’s Strike. Wimmin in more than 60 countries will be participating in the global strike. Why not add dozens or hundreds or thousands of more voices to this struggle through the growing world of blogging?

Just in case
(Thanks to Tamara at the Girls, Women + Media Project!)
And for those who think we have actually achieved equality…here are some dialogue starters, courtesy of the National Council for Research on Women, (www.ncrw.org) and also the Girls, Women & Media Project (www.mediaandwomen.org)

  • Data on women’s/girls struggle for equality has gone missing in the Bush Administration. The current administration continues to engage in a pattern of omission, distortion, and spin when it comes to information about women and girls. Data on the Department of Labor website has gone missing and the FDA continues to block approval of Emergency Contraception despite research findings that support its use.
  • Women are still underpaid. Women earn only 77 cents to every dollar earned by men. (Former MA democratic Lt. Gov. Evelyn Murphy is doin great things to shake this up…check out www.womenaregettingeven.org) Also, can 1 million women against WalMart be hallucinating? This is serious!
  • Women are still massively underrepresented in the sciences. Despite substantial gains in the number of women pursuing graduate degrees in the sciences, women currently earn only 20% of all PhDs in computer science, less than 27% in physics, and only 17% in engineering. Studies show that women in science experience discrimination and double standards (sorry Larry Summers, but its really true.)
  • There are too few female tenured professors. Despite the fact that women have been at least half of all college undergraduates since 1978, women represent only 36% of all tenured faculty nationwide, and only 13% of doctoral granting universities boast women presidents. Many women in academic settings report discrimination.
  • Women are underrepresented in corporate leadership. Women have made up more than 40% of the workforce since 1977, and are currently almost 50%, yet only 9 women are CEOs of Fortune 500 companies.
  • Too few women lawyers make partner. Women have been 40% of all law school students since 1995, and over half since 2001, but are only 15% of partners in law firms nationwide. Many female lawyers attest to double standards and discrimination.
  • Media: Stereotypes Abound!
  • Men still dominate the airwaves, music industry, film industry, etc, and are most decisionmakers and critics (often with a silent or not so silent male perspective.) Women make up only 11% of the national experts on Sunday morning political talk shows, and only 6% to 7% of the repeat guests. No major record label is headed by a woman. Most major film studios are headed by men, and nine out of ten music videos are produced by men. For the most part, women need to be sex objects and to be young to be successful in music and to some extent, films, TV. (Men,not so much…can you say Sean Connery? Harrison Ford? Woody Allen? David Letterman? Larry King?.) Women are chosen/allowed to direct only 5 - 7 % of major Hollywood films, and rarely are nominated for or win major awards for directing (despite \nsome very talented female directors out there.) This is not just Hollywood insanity….it’s workplace discrimination.
  • Women are poorer. Women constitute about 70% of the world’s absolute poor – those living on less than a dollar a day. In the United States in 2004, there were 20.1 million women living below the poverty level. Worldwide, women’s access to resources and education still lags behind boys/men due to double standards.
  • Slavery still exists! Women and girls are the majority of the 800,000 to nearly 4 million people trafficked (bought and sold as property) internationally every year.

Some food for thought and discussion!
Who’s participating

  1. 10,000 Birds: 10000birds.com
  2. 21st Century Mom: 21stcenturymom.blogspot.com
  3. 3mote: 3mote.com
  4. 4 love is the color: thisisali.com/weblog
  5. A Biased, Myopic Account of Mundane Events: biasedandmyopic.blogspot.com
  6. Abnormal Interests: telecomtally.com/blog
  7. about:blank: www.aboutblank.nl
  8. About.com Civil Liberties: civilliberty.about.com
  9. Academic in Exile: academicinexile.blogspot.com
  10. Adventures in Ethics and Science: scienceblogs.com/ethicsandscience
  11. Afaeyre Maede: afaeyremaede.blogspot.com
  12. African Hunting Safaris: african-hunting-safaris.blogspot.com
  13. against sexism: superisabela-againstsexism.blogspot.com
  14. Agnostic Mom:www.agnosticmom.com
  15. ahistoricality: ahistoricality.blogspot.com
  16. All Things Jen(nifer): allthingsjennifer.blogspot.com
  17. Amateurverbs: www.amateurverbs.com
  18. Ampersand: www.amptoons.com/blog
  19. And I Did It Anyway: cleopatraqueenofdenial.blogspot.com
  20. Andragogny of the Op-Eds: androgogy.blogspot.com
  21. Angry for a Reason: angryforareason.blogspot.com
  22. Anna Lou: xderangedx.livejournal.com
  23. another radical feminist: aradfem.blogspot.com
  24. anti-music blog: antimusicblog.wordpress.com
  25. Antonia’s blog: antoniabance.org.uk
  26. apple86: www.xanga.com/apples86
  27. Approximating A Life: tommybarbarella.livejournal.com
  28. A red rantin’ Tory out here in a Dory: commodorified.livejournal.com
  29. A Tangled WEB: ferrousbuller.blogspot.com
  30. Aunt Hattie’s Web: hattie.typepad.com/hatties_web
  31. Avast! Feminist Conspiracy!: avastconspiracy.blogspot.com
  32. Azzie’s: azzie.blogspot.com
  33. BACKSPACE Lite: backspacelite.wordpress.com
  34. Bad Feminist: badfeminist.blogspot.com
  35. Bally: blurty.com/users/bally
  36. Bardiac: bardiac.blogspot.com
  37. Beenyboona: beenyboona2.blogspot.com
  38. Behind the Surface: behindthesurface.blogspot.com
  39. Being Amber Rhea: amber.tangerinecs.com
  40. Between the Blue of Sea and Sky: eenbetween.blogspot.com
  41. Bildschirmarbeitsplatz: bildschirmarbeitsplatz.blogg.de
  42. Bitch | Lab: blog.pulpculture.org
  43. Biting Beaver: bitingbeaver.blogspot.com
  44. Blackademic: blackademic.com
  45. Black Looks: okrasoup.typepad.com
  46. Blogcritics: blogcritics.org
  47. Blog THIS, Pal!: blogthispal.blogspot.com
  48. Blokblog: www.blokblog.be
  49. blood on my teeth: layingblames.blogspot.com
  50. Bombadee’s Garden: bombadee.blogspot.com
  51. Bookworm: arb0rv1tae.typepad.com/bookworm
  52. Bride of Acheron: brideofacheron.blogspot.com
  53. billiantdays.com: brilliantdays.com
  54. Body Impolitic: laurietobyedison.com
  55. Bring It On!: www.teambio.org
  56. Buffalo WOW: buffalowow.wnymedia.net
  57. Cammeo: commeo.blogspot.com
  58. captain_peleg: captain-peleg.livejournal.com
  59. Carnival of Speculum: carnivalspeculum.blogspot.com
  60. Ceylon Silver Girl: sribecca.blogspot.com
  61. Charioteers, The: charioteers.blogspot.com
  62. Chicken Scratch: sigelphoenix.livejournal.com
  63. chimaeras ABOUND: chimaerasabound.blogspot.com
  64. ClueChick: cluechick.com
  65. Comics Worth Reading: comicsworthreading.com
  66. Core, The: corelaw.blogspot.com
  67. Creek Running North: faultline.org
  68. Crunchy Granola: granolacrunchy.blogspot.com
  69. CUSS and other rants: cussandotherrants.blogspot.com
  70. daily dose of queer: www.dailydoseofqueer.com
  71. Daintier. Smarter. Better dressed: jenn-possible.livejournal.com
  72. Damien’s Spot: damiensspot.blogspot.com
  73. Dan Miller: www.dan-miller.co.uk/dlogs
  74. Daylight Aetheism: daylightatheism.org
  75. DC BiblioGoddess: dcbibliogoddess.blogspot.com
  76. Dees Diversion, The: thedeesdiversion.blogspot.com
  77. Distracted: caxton.stockton.edu/distracted
  78. Dlightfully Dawgmatic: delightfullydogmatic.blogspot.com
  79. debitage: brunchma.com/~acsumama/blog
  80. Delusions of Mediocrity: delmed.typepad.com
  81. Devious Diva: deviousdiva.wordpress.com
  82. Diary of a Goldfish: blobolobolob.blogspot.com
  83. Disillusioned Kid: disillusionedkid.blogspot.com
  84. Don’t Let’s Start: dontletsstart.com
  85. East Street, The: theeastreet.blogspot.com
  86. Echidne of the Snakes: echidneofthesnakes.blogspot.com
  87. EGAD: blog.lib.umn.edu/mill1974/EGAD/
  88. Enter the Jabberwock: enterthejabberwock.com
  89. erosdiscordia: erosdiscordia.typepad.com
  90. Everything But a Milk Cow: everythingbutamilkcow.wordpress.com
  91. Exercise in Futility: cantondem.blogspot.com
  92. Fat Lady Sings, The: www.fatladysings.us
  93. Fabulosa Mujer: fabulosamujer.blogspot.com
  94. Feminazi by Night: feminaziforthewin.blogspot.com
  95. Feministe: feministe.us/blog
  96. Feminist Law Professors: feministlawprofs.law.sc.edu
  97. Femivist: lelyons.wordpress.com
  98. Fernham: fernham.blogspot.com
  99. Fido Knits: fidoknits.blogspot.com
  100. firedoglake: firedoglake.blogspot.com
  101. Following my bliss: followingmybliss.blogspot.com
  102. for better or for worse: krisandapril.us
  103. Forever a Square Peg: squarepeg.typepad.com
  104. Full Frontal Politics: fullfrontalpolitics.com
  105. G Bitch: gbitch.blogspot.com
  106. GavinRules, The: thegavinrules.livejournal.com
  107. Geeky Feminist: thegeekyfeminist.blogspot.com
  108. Geekymom: geekymom.blogspot.com
  109. Gendergeek: www.gendergeek.org
  110. Girl, Uninterrupted: grluninterrupted.blogspot.com
  111. Go Knit in Your Hat: goknitinyourhat.blogspot.com
  112. Granny Gets a Vibrator: grannyvibe.blogspot.com
  113. Green LA Girl: http://greenlagirl.com/
  114. Gud bedre: gudbedre.blogspot.com
  115. Gymno: gymno.blogspot.com
  116. Happening-Here?: happening-here.blogspot.com
  117. Hasta Los Gatos Quieren Zapatos: hastalosgatosquierenzapatos.blogspot.com
  118. harpies cave: sybil.wordpress.com
  119. Hathor Legacy, The: thehathorlegacy.info
  120. Hoyden-About-Town: tigtogblog.blogspot.com
  121. Hughes for America: hughesforamerica.typepad.com
  122. Hugo Schwyzer: hugoboy.typepad.com
  123. Huntress, The: thehuntress.typepad.com/the_huntress
  124. i am speaking now the way you do: faithlesswondergirl.blogspot.com
  125. I Blame the Patriarchy: blog.iblamethepatriarchy.com
  126. Ideas for Women: ideasforwomen.com/news
  127. I Hate People: forfuckssakes.blogspot.com
  128. In her web she still delights: in-her-web.blog-city.com
  129. I Read Comics: ireadcomics.blogspot.com
  130. I See Invisible People: dailytroll.com
  131. i:rrhobog: i.rrhoblog.de
  132. IM algemeinen eher ungut: zahai.blogsome.com
  133. Inn of the Last Home: lasthome.blogspot.com
  134. intransigent vicissitudes: opinioniv.blogspot.com
  135. Irrational Point: irrationalpoint.blogspot.com
  136. It’s All Connected: itsallconnected.wordpress.com
  137. It’s a scarf!: itsascarf.blogspot.com
  138. Janna & Sanjay: sanjayandjanna.blogspot.com
  139. jessica’s universe: jessicasuniverse.blogspot.com
  140. Jester Queen: cortejo.livejournal.com
  141. Jo’s Journal: www.josalmon.co.uk
  142. Journey to Ithaca: journey-to-ithaca.com
  143. Justice for Women: cw-justiceforwomen.blogspot.com
  144. Just Powers: justpowers.com
  145. K8: k8grrl.blogspot.com
  146. Kaply, Inc: kaplyinc.blogspot.com
  147. katunia: katunia.blogger.de
  148. Kirk’s Blurty: blurty.com/users/nkl
  149. Kmareka.com: kmareka.com
  150. Kofi’s hat: kofis-hat.blogspot.com
  151. Kristi*: kristi.blogsport.de
  152. LAmom: lamom.blogs.com
  153. Les Faits de la Fiction: bryanmckay.com/blog
  154. Listening for Change: seaganschow.blogspot.com
  155. little brown fangirl: bijal.livejournal.com
  156. Logtar’s Blog: blog.logtar.com
  157. Lone Sophist: lonesophist.com
  158. Long strange trip: ams-update.blogspot.com
  159. Look What I Found In My Brain!: sff.net/people/lucy-snyder/brain
  160. Loose Chicks Sink Ships: loosechickssinkships.blogspot.com
  161. Luftpumpen und andere wesen: hobbesvsboyle.blogspot.com
  162. Mama Zine: mamazine.com
  163. Mamita Mala: mamitamala.blogspot.com
  164. Management Professor Notes II: blog.case.edu/kep2
  165. Marginal Notes: marginalnotes.typepad.com/pj
  166. Marmiteboy: marmiteboy.blogspot.com
  167. Media Girl: mediagirl.org
  168. Medusa Smiles: medusanet.ca
  169. Megan’s Livejournal: meganjeane.livejournal.com
  170. Mel’s Diner: litochoro.blogspot.com
  171. Mind the Gap: mindthegapcardiff.blogspot.com
  172. Mind on Fire: mindonfire.com
  173. MissPenName: misspenname.blogspot.com
  174. Mommy, Ph.D.: mommyphd.blogspot.com
  175. Mom Writes: marytsao.blogspot.com
  176. Mortlake on the Schuylkill: mortlakepa.blogspot.com
  177. Moving Target: eyebalm.com/movingtarget/
  178. My Amusement Park: myamusementpark.blogspot.com
  179. My Defective Life: mysecretanddefectivelife.blogspot.com
  180. My Life as a Vegan: aveganlife.blogspot.com
  181. My Three Dollars Worth: mythreedollars.blogspot.com
  182. Natasha!: myspace account
  183. Never Better: notmyshoes.net/nb
  184. New Game Plus: lake-desire.com/newgameplus
  185. News of the Restless: sabinabecker.com
  186. Next Few Hours, The: thenextfewhours.com/blog
  187. Nicole in London: travelingtreefrog.com
  188. No Blood for Hubris: nobloodforhubris.blogspot.com
  189. One Tenacious Baby Mama: darkdaughta.blogspot.com
  190. One Woman Army: buginlove.blogspot.com
  191. Oolon Colluphid: ooloncolluphid.blogspot.com
  192. Oral Hygiene Queen: oralhygienequeen.blogspot.com
  193. Out where even dreams may shatter: alarielle.livejournal.com
  194. Pandagon: pandagon.net
  195. PCPB, The Official Blog of: catsagainstbush.blogspot.com
  196. Pedantic Musings: pedanticmusings.blogspot.com
  197. Peer Abuse: www.peerabuse.info
  198. Pen-Elayne on the Web: http://elayneriggs.blogspot.com
  199. Peregrinations: lesleygraham.blogspot.com
  200. Philobiblon: philobiblion.blogspot.com
  201. Pilgrimgirl: pilgrimgirl.blogspot.com
  202. Poetry Headquarters: poetryheadquarters.blogspot.com
  203. Pretty, Fizzy Paradise: kalinara.blogspot.com
  204. Prid of Ankh-Morpork, The: sadira42.livejournal.com
  205. Procrastinator’s Handbook, The: blog.tubb.ca
  206. professional confessions: muserant.blogspot.com
  207. Projecto Colombia: colombia.logtar.com
  208. Psychotic Patriot: psychoticpatriot.blogspot.com
  209. Quaker Agitator: quakeragitator.blogspot.com
  210. Ramblin’ with Roger: rogerowengreen.blogspot.com
  211. Radioactive Banana: radioactive-banana.com/blog
  212. Reappropriate: reappropriate.com
  213. Red Headed 8itch: redheaded8itch.com
  214. Red State Feminist: redstatefeminist.blogspot.com
  215. Return of the Reluctant: edrants.com
  216. rhetorically speaking: rhetoricallyspeaking.blogspot.com
  217. Riba Rambles: ribarambles.org
  218. Richard McAdam: richardmcadam.blogspot.com
  219. Rightly Distracted: www.jacksonfreepress.com/head.php
  220. rough shoulder: canyon23.net/kbl
  221. Ruthi.org: www.ruthi.org
  222. Sabreland: sabreland.com
  223. sammelsurium: sammelsurium.blogsport.de
  224. Sappho’s Breathing: www.sapphosbreathing.com
  225. Satellite Heart: www.satelliteheart.kaelliott.com
  226. Science Fiction Saint: njcullen.frontenachouse.com
  227. Scroomious Scrivenings: scroobious.blogspot.com
  228. serenitis: serenitis.blogspot.com
  229. Shooting Full Force: bshoot.blogspot.com
  230. Shrub.com Blog, The Official: blog.shrub.com
  231. sinister girl: msjared.blogspot.com
  232. Slant Truth: www.slanttruth.kaelliott.com
  233. Small Biz Survival: smallbizsurvival.blogspot.com
  234. Solliditudo Rei Socialis: socialconcern.blogspot.com
  235. Sophia’s Draft: www.sophiasdraft.com
  236. Sophies Verden: sofiesverden.livejournal.com
  237. Sour Duck: sourduck.blogspot.com
  238. Sour Patch, The: sourpatch.wordpress.com
  239. Spotted Elephant: thebipolarview.blogspot.com
  240. sthreeling: sthreeling.blogspot.com
  241. strength never power: ciopirtirebrutala.blogspot.com
  242. Surfette: surfette.typepad.com
  243. sv blog: 23bit.net/sv/blog
  244. Sweet Insurgent: www.myspace.com/sweet_insurgent
  245. TN Guerilla Women: guerillawomentn.blogspot.com
  246. Terrafactive Armageddon: cithra.livejournal.com
  247. Textaisle: linensandshit.blogspot.com
  248. then again, maybe not: thagmano.blogspot.com
  249. things Bethany wrote: bethaniqua.blogspot.com
  250. Third Rail Themes: parsleycoveredtext.blogspot.com
  251. Tiara.org: www.tiara.org/blog
  252. Transcending Gender: jenburke.com
  253. T Rex’s Guide to Life: quinnell.us/b2evolution
  254. Uncommon Man, The: uncommonman.mensresourcesinternational.org
  255. Up!: kat.uprush.org
  256. vegankid: vegankid.solidaritydesign.net
  257. Verbify: verbify.livejournal.com
  258. vinspinz: vinspinz.blogspot.com
  259. virtualpolitik: virtualpolitik.blogspot.com
  260. Vivian J. Paige: vivianpaige.wordpress.com
  261. Watermark: sbpoet.com
  262. Weber’s Polar Night: monroelab.net/blog
  263. We’re not in Egypt anymore: shenaaz.com
  264. What’s that you said?: browneyedgirl65.livejournal.com
  265. witchy-woo: witchy-woo.blogspot.com
  266. With a Duck: withaduck.blogspot.com
  267. Woman of Color Blog: womenofcolor.blogspot.com
  268. wonderland or not: wonderlandornot.net
  269. Words and Rocks: wordsandrocks.blogspot.com
  270. WordWhammy: www.wordwhammy.com
  271. Worstest Blog Ever: worstoneofall.blogspot.com
  272. Writing as Jo(e): writingasjoe.blogspot.com
  273. Written World: ragnell.blogspot.com
  274. Wrong Side of Capitalism, The: huh.34sp.com/wrong
  275. Yeah, but Houdini didn’t have these hips: sarahlynn.blogspot.com
  276. yeahpope: yeahpope.blogspot.com